2008 Aussie Millions Poker Main Event Day 1

2008 Aussie MillionsThe 2008 Aussie millions poker tournament is full of some of the very best names in poker. 780 participants total crowded onto the Crown Casino in Melbourne creating a $7.8 million prize pool. This broke up day 1 into three parts.

Before you could earn a piece of this lucrative prize pool you will have to survive day 1 and no matter what day 1 part you had, it was a tough way to go. In the field in Day 1a would be Andy Black, Allen Cunningham, Eli Elezra, Tony G, Karina Jett, John Juanda and Gavin Smith to name just a few.

Jimmy Fricke, 2007 Aussie Millions runner up also started Day 1a but drawing a very tough table didn’t bode well as he busted early in the event. Others that would not get through Day 1a would be: Brandon Schaefer, Mike Sexton, Gavin Smith and Lee Watkinson.

Day 1a ended with 91 left standing and Andy Black a top the leader board for this segment. Other still in the hunt are Allen Cunningham, JJ Liu, Raymond Rahme, Erik Seidel and Tony G.

When the 294 Day 1b players came to the table, they were greeted with much of the same mine field as day 1a with Annie Duke, Shannon Elizabeth (with her new Masion Poker sponsor), Phil Ivey, Chris ‘Jesus’ Ferguson, Clonie Gowen, Gus Hansen (07 Aussie Million Champ), Joe Hachem (05 WSOP Champ), Phil Laak and Jennifer Tilly.

Just like Fricke in Day 1a, Gus Hansen, last years Aussie champion went home in Day1b as did Shannon Elizabeth, Joe Sebok, Josh ‘JJProdigy’ Field, Chris Ferguson, Patrik Antonius and Phil Laak.

Day 1b ended with Phil Ivey atop the leader board with Jeff Lisandro, Max Pescatori and Joe Hatchem close behind.

You may have thought Day 1c would be a bit easier with all those great players already gone or at least finished for Day 1 but this last day 1 segment was not much easier. Taking to the tables during this day would be: Mike Matusow ‘The Mouth’, Howard Lederer, Annette ‘Annette_15’ Obrestad, Jon ‘Pearljammer’ Turner and 2006 champion, Lee Nelson.

Day 1 wasn’t much luck for past champions as Lee Nelson was knocked out of the event early. Other notables eliminated in Day 1c was Tony Hachem (Joe’s brother), David Bach, Annette Obrestad, Jeff Garza and the actor Michael Vartan.

Soren Eriksen led the way after Day 1c with Kenna James, Howard Lederer, Matt Matros and Mike ‘The Mouth’ Matusow still with chips.

Leader board from combined Day 1’s:

  1. Andrew Black 167,800 (Day 1a)
  2. Phil Ivey – 163,300 (Day 1b)
  3. Dominic Sinagra – 151,300 (Day 1b)
  4. Soren Eriksen – 150,000 (Day 1c)
  5. Jeff Lisandro – 138,400 (Day 1b)
  6. Max Pescatori – 137,600 (Day 1b)
  7. Travis Brown – 129,500 (Day 1b)
  8. Stefan Jedlicka – 123,500 (Day 1b)
  9. Shane Moran 122,200 (Day 1a)
  10. Joe Melancon – 120,000 (Day 1c)
Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply