Thang Luu Wins WSOP Event #3 Second Year in a Row

Event #3 of the 2009 World Series of Poker has ended with a record breaking turnout and a record breaking win. 918 players posted the $1,500 buy-in for the Omaha 8 or better event, which were the most players ever for the event. What it is even more impressive is the fact that Thang Luu was able to win the event two years in a row as well as placing second in 2007.

This is the first time that a player has won back to back titles and runner up in a WSOP event since Johnny Chan did back in the 80s. Chan won the 1987 and 1988 Main Events and earned second in the Main Event in 1989. So now it is Luu’s turn to bask in the glory.

Final table play lasted six hours before Luu was named the winner. Luu claimed his title yet again when he went up against Ed Smith in heads up play. On the final hand Luu moved all in with Q-5-4 while holding Q-9-8-7. Smith made the call with J-9-9-3. The turn was a 5 and the river a 10 which gave Luu two pairs and the title win.

Luu commented on his recent win stating: “it feels even better than the last one. I think these kinds of $1,500 buy-in events are the best for me. There are a lot of new players in the (lower buy-in tournaments).” He also commented: “I know one thing for sure: I will play in this event every year from now on!”

Final Results:

1. Thang Luu ($263,190)
2. Ed Smith ($162,109)
3. Ming Reslock ($106,373)
4. Robert Price ($73,404)

5. Pascal Leyo ($53,293)
6. Jordan Rich ($40,611)
7. Jim Geary ($32,404)
8. Freddy Deeb ($27,028)
9. Senovio Ramirez ($23,520)




Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply