Snell Wins 2020 Aussie Millions Opening Event

After playing great poker for six straight days, Jo Snell managed to win the first prize of the Opening Event of the 2020 Aussie Millions. He successfully beat the field that consisted of 1,665 players and earned a total of A$341,325.

When the last day of the event started, Snell was somewhere in the middle in chips, as he ranked seventh out of the 14 remaining players. Nevertheless, he managed to fight his way through and face Samuel Jeffries in heads-up play.

By winning the event, he tripled his lifetime earnings. Apart from receiving a huge cash reward, he also received one of the ANTON Jewellery Championship Rings. Snell took a total of nine hours during the last day to win the event for the first time in his life.

Naturally, Snell was pretty excited about the victory, stating that it felt unbelievable. It’s his first Aussie Millions, which hosted more than 1,600 players.

According to Snell, winning that huge of an event was simply “outrageous.” The winner didn’t deny the element of luck as well, saying that one has to get pretty lucky to win an event such as the Opening Event of the Aussie Millions.

One of the hands that was most significant for Snell was during the final table when he sent Sohrab Rezvanpour to the rail. Although Rezvanpour was sure he was going to win the hand with his pocket queens, Snell was better with pocket kings.

At that point, Snell received a serious boost in chips, which also happened to be a boost for his poker performance.

The Final Table Results — Who Else Made It?

A total of 10 players returned to the final table, and the first one to hit the rail was Andrew Shanahan, who earned A$20,825. He was soon followed by Bo Jin, who had to settle for the ninth position and A$27,315.

The third player to leave the game in the final table was Rezvanpour by losing to Snell in the hand described above. Rezvanpour won A$32,425 and was followed by Egor Bulychev on the seventh position for A$37,550.

Ryan Henry ended up sixth and won A$44,375, and Jungwoon An left soon after that with a total of A$61,450 in his pocket. Fourth place was reserved for Michael Egan, who won A$90,625, and Jonathan Karamalikis was the last one to hit the rail before heads-up play. Karamalikis won A$125,445.

The exciting heads-up portion of the event saw Jeffries lose all his chips to Snell. Jeffries had to settle, therefore, for second place and the consolation prize of A$210,775.

Other popular players that made it to the money list but failed to make it to the final table included Tyron Krost, Ivan Deyra, Quan Zhou, Gautam Dhingra, Jackson Warne, and more.

Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply