Nominations for the 2020 Poker Hall of Fame Open

If you go to, you’ll notice that the nominations for the 2020 Poker Hall of Fame are now open. You can vote for any one of the suggested poker players, but the voting will be closed on December 11

After that, one player will be inducted to the Poker HoF on December 30. This will be different from previous years when there was more than one inductee. This time, Poker HoF will return to its roots and induct just one, as it did during the years between 1980 – 2004.

The nominations are open so that poker players who are worthy of this honor could be identified. Moreover, some of the players who were finalists in 2019 but didn’t get inducted are automatically identified as 2020 nominees. They are Mike Matusow, Huck Seed, Ted Forrest, Chris Ferguson, Antonio Esfandiari, Eli Elezra, David Chiu, and Chris Bjorin.

The final ballot will officially be revealed to the public on December 16. The list will consist of players who received the most support. However, the process gets more interesting as the existing Poker Hall of Fame members then gets to cast their vote. Last year, poker media also played a part in choosing the best player, but it seems that won’t be the same in 2020.

After everyone cast their votes, the inductee will be announced on Wednesday, December 30. This is also the day when the WSOP Main Event heads-up finale will take place. In other words, the WSOP wants to finish this year in style, despite all the obstacles that the industry had to face in 2020.

The player who gets selected will officially become the 59th inductee to the Poker Hall of Fame. They will follow David Oppenheim and Chris Moneymaker, who were the inductees in 2019.

Criteria Required to Become a Nominee

Not every poker player can be a nominee for the 2020 Poker Hall of Fame induction. They need to check all the boxes of the following criteria to enter the elite circle.  Let’s see what’s required to become nominated.

First of all, players need to have played poker against top competitors.  Moreover, they need to be at least 40-years-old. After all, the Hall of Fame is for experienced players, so the age requirement is necessary as well.

These players must have played high-stakes games to become eligible, and they must have gained peer respect during their career as poker players.

Another important criterium is that the player must have “stood the test of time.” It means they didn’t give up at some point and continued performing well throughout their respective careers.

Finally, a Poker Hall of Fame inductee can also be a non-player. If someone like that is nominated, then they must have a huge contribution to the growth and success of poker as a game, and that the contribution gave “indelible positive and lasting results.”

There’s no way to predict who’s going to be inducted this year, but we all have our favorites, don’t we?

Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply