2008 Aussie Millions Poker Championship Day 3

2008 Aussie MillionsWith only 80 players making the money in the 2008 Aussie Millions, 98 took to the tables for the start of Day 3. At stake is the $1.63 million first place prize and to start the day, Matthew LaGarde was atop the leader board.

There are many big names in the chase behind LaGarde and one was trying to make a move early. Mike ‘The Mouth’ Matusow just basically survived Day 2 and early in Day 3 was all-in with pocket nines. Recent history at the Poker After Dark tournament will tell us that this hand has been particularly cruel to Matusow lately. Looks like the curse is still with him as he was called by Con Angelakis with AK and ahead the whole way, a rivered ace sent Mike Matusow to the rail just outside the money.

Jeff Lisandro was also having a good tournament but he too was sent to the rail before the bubble burst.

The bubble did finally burst but this time with a twist. Two players went out at the same time. Charles Cuschieri and Lucio Baroni both were eliminated and for that neither will go home empty handed. They will now split the $15,000 prize money for 80th place, though maybe not what either of them hoped for, they did earn a little bit back.

Just like in must tournaments, once they pressure of making it to the money is broken, the shorter stakes start taking risks and the eliminations started to be more frequent. Some of those busting just inside the money were, Tom Dwan, Perry Friedman, Erick Lindgren, Matt Matros, Kevin ‘BeLOWaBOVe’ Saul, who is best known for his online poker play and Tiffany Williamson.

The final eliminations for Day 3 included a Day 1 chip leader in Andy Black who was sent to the rail by Eric Seidel and the beginning Day 3 chip leader, Matthew LaGarde, was also sent home when unfortunately his pocket kings ran into the pocket aces of Peter Ling. The last elimination of Day 3 went to Robert Akery and that left 22 players to start Day 4.

The top ten chip stacks for Day 4 (according to Pokernews.com):

  1. Antonio Casale – 1,513,000
  2. Nico Behling – 1,306,000
  3. Dane Lomas – 1,158,000
  4. Max Pescatori – 1,082,000
  5. Robert Akery – 940,000
  6. Peter Mobbs – 908,000
  7. Maximilian Bracht – 837,000
  8. Michael Chrisanthopoulos – 803,000
Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply