Sergio Aido Wins $500,000 in Rock ‘N’ Roll Poker Open $25,500 High Roller Event

Sergio Aido’s popularity at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Hollywood has started growing after performing well in several events. He won $900,100 after beating 1,109 players in the August 2022 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open main event. Still, the poker pro won $500,000 after topping an 85-entry field in the $25,500 buy-in no-limit hold ’em high roller at the Rock ‘N’ Roll Poker Open.

Aido garnered 672 Card Player Player of the Year (POY) points when he won the tournament besides receiving the money and trophy. It was his ninth time qualifying for a final table and his second title this year. Reports claim that the player has over $1.9 million in POY earnings and 4,115 points thus making him the 19th player in this year’s POY race that Global Poker finances.

Other top finishers in the tournament included Michael Rossito, Justin Zaki, and Giuseppe Iadisernia. But, they were busted on the first day.

The Final Table’s POY Points and Payouts

  1. Sergio Aido – 672 points and $500,000
  2. Scott Margereson – 560 points and $413,746
  3. Justin Saliba – 448 points and $402,634
  4. Gytis Lazauninkas – 336 points and $186,855
  5. Stan Jablonski – 280 points and $123,870
  6. Joe McKeehen – 224 points and $92,380
  7. Alexander Livingston – 168 points and $75,580
  8. Chance Kornuth – 112 points and $65,085
  9. Ray Qartomy – 56 points and $62,985

Action on the Final Day

Gytis Lazauninkas led the finalists on the second and last day. Ray Qartomy got busted first at the final table after Alex Livingston’s pocket kings beat his top pair of queens.

Qartomy failed to improve on the river, and his run ended up earning $62,985. Chance Kornuth followed him in eighth place after his K-9 lost to Scott Margereson’s pocket fours.

Kornuth made an open-ended straight draw flop to go with overcards but didn’t improve later. He amassed 112 POY points and won $65,085 thus making him 11th in the POY leaderboard.

Margereson got the chip lead but lost it after a few minutes when Aido’s pocket nines defeated his A-Q in a preflop race. Another knockout hand was dealt after several short-stack double-ups.

Livingston faced Justin Saliba’s three-bet shove and used pocket tens to call all-in. The former raced against AClub SuitQClub Suit and the latter got the lead after flopping a queen.

Saliba sent Livingston packing in seventh place and it was his 10th final table finish this year. Joe McKeehen used K-9 to shove his short stack from the small blind. Yet, Gytis used A-8 to make a big blind call.

McKeehen got the stack lead after flopping a pair of nines. Yet, Lazauninkas placed an open-ended straight draw that matched his outs. He completed the straight on the river, won the hand, and busted McKeehen in the sixth position.

Stan Jablonski followed McKeehen in fifth place after Margereson’s A-2 suited beat his pocket jacks thus making him lose most of his chips. The former used J-5 suited to move all in for less than a small blind.

Lazauninkas shoved a three-bet using a small pair over Aido’s cutoff open. The latter used A-J suited to call, and his aces eliminated the former in fourth place.

The remaining three finalists discussed a three-way deal that redistributed the remaining money. Aido got 4,100,000 chips, Margereson 2,290,000, and Saliba 2,115,000 chips. They eventually agreed and Aido won the title as Margereson won $413,746 while Saliba took home $402,634.

Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply