More Changes in the UK Gambling Commision

After the announcement came out that Director of Operations, Phill Brears, is leaving the UK Gambling Commission to head Gibraltar’s Gambling Regulatory Authority (GRA), comes the news that a new chairman, Brian Pomeroy CBE, has been appointed to head the Commission, and Peter Teague was appointed as a new Commissioner. The British minister for the Department of Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS), James Purnell announced both appointments.

Pomeroy will assume his post on 1 January 2008, when the current Chair Peter Dean steps down. He will be responsible for moving the Gambling Commission forward as it develops its regulatory role, including enforcing many of the new elements of the 2005 Gambling Act, such as: taking action against operators who fall short compliance with the Act; make certain that gambling is fair and crime free; that children and other vulnerable people are protected.

Pomeroy is at present the Chair of the Payments Council and Financial Inclusion Task Force as well as a Member of the Audit Commission. He will step down as a Commissioner of the National Lottery Commission (NLC) on September 30th , 2007 after serving in excess of 8 years there with.

Peter Teague’s appointment as a Commissioner will cover four years, with an option to renew. He will take his office effective September 1st, when the 2005 Gambling Act officially takes effect. Pomeroy and Teague each have extensive experience in the financial services sector as well as regulatory experience, which were detailed in the DCMS press release.
Culture minister Purnell said, “The Gambling Commission is a tough new regulator with stringent powers that allow them to take decisive action against operators who fail to meet the high standards required by the Act.”

Purnell gave commendation to the efforts of Chairman Peter Dean, noting that Pomeroy “will build on the legacy of departing chair Peter Dean, who has guided the Gambling Commission through implementation of the Gambling Act with great conviction, making it the effective regulator that it is today.”

The press release quoted Brian Pomerey as saying, “I am very pleased to have been appointed as Chair at such an important time for the Gambling Commission. The Gambling Act requires the gambling industry to take a whole new approach to the way it operates, putting social responsibility at the heart of every gambling business.” He further went on to pledge, “My priority will be to make sure that the gambling industry meets the tough new standards required by the Act. In doing so, the Commission should not hesitate to use its array of new powers and sanctions to ensure that gambling remains fair and crime-free and that proper protections for children and vulnerable adults are in place.”

The Gambling Commission Board comprises a Chairman and nine Commissioners. Members attend monthly and as needed Commission meetings, as well as meetings with stakeholders and participate in regulatory hearings granting, reviewing and revoking licenses. The Secretary of State Culture, Media and Sport makes appointments to the Board.
The board is presently made up of the following people:

Peter Dean CBE (Chairman)
Commissioners: Ben Gunn CBE QPM; William Knight; Rachel Lampard; Andrew McIntosh; Gill Milburn JP; Roy Penrose OBE QPM; Eve Salomon; Michael Steen OBE; Jenny Williams.

The changes are just around the corner, and the interesting outcome of these changes has yet to be seen.

Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

About LadyHoldem 502 Articles
LadyHoldem is a hot poker mamma! Between her life as a poker news writer for websites and her busyness as a mom, this is one hot movin' mamma.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply