Maurice Hawkins and Ryan Jones Excel at WSOP Harrah’s Cherokee

Maurice Hawkins tied with Josh Reichard in the World Series of Poker (WSOP) Circuit ring race in April. But he regained the lead after a month when he won $54,599 and his 15th Circuit ring this week at WSOP Harrah’s Cherokee in the $2,200 buy-in High Roller tournament. The Florida player led the ring list for a few years up to when Reichard bagged his 13th and 14th rings thus tieing to him.

What Were the Event’s Prizes?

Maurice Hawkins -$54,599
Toby Boas -$33,744
William Stanford -$23,137
Irene Carey -$16,327
Angela Gambino -$11,867
Dylan Wilkerson -$8,893
Will Givens -$6,877
Jonah Labranche -$5,493
Ryan Brown -$4,538

Hawkins set a huge gap between him and his opponents in the all-time ring list. He had 14 rings while Valentin Vornicu, the second player, had 12 rings. But, several players attempted to reduce the gap including Ari Engel who won their 12th ring and tied with Vornicu in March.

Even so, Hawkins retook the lead after beating Toby Boas in a heads-up match. Yet, other players like Will Givens and Irene Carey had deep runs.

The 2020 WSOPC Choctaw tournament earned Hawkins his 14th ring. He later finished fourth in Event No.11: $400 No-Limit Hold’em. The poker player is striving to win his 16th ring before Reichard gets his 15th ring.

Ryan Jones Is the Latest WSOPC Cherokee Title Champion

Jones stunned many spectators when he won another title at the WSOPC stop Main Event that Harrah’s Cherokee in North Carolina hosted. Still, he won $302,131 and increased his poker career earnings to over $1.9 million.

The player has won three tournaments at WSOP Circuit stops, including the 2017 WSOP Circuit stop at The Rio in Las Vegas. He stated in an interview that Cherokee is his second home as he resides in North Carolina.

Jones competes during four stops annually and is confident that no player can defeat him. He said that a player has to trust their career’s growth process and consistently take part in various tournaments. 1,205 players signed up for the $1,700 buy-in no-limit Hold’em tournament and formed a $1,663,301 prize pool.

Its leading 121 entrants were guaranteed to win at least $3,484. The players who made money advanced to Day 2 and 12 players remained after over 12 hours of intense action. Walker Miskelly, Shanmukha Meruga, and Dustin Goldklang missed a seat at the final table.

The Top Nine Finalists’ Payouts

Ryan Jones- $302,131
Jonathan Lewis-$186,733
William Kopp-$138,637
Michael Monaghan-$104,019
Timothy Brown-$78,882
Kenneth Brossoit-$60,466
Alcides Gomez-$46,858
Robert George-$36,714
Alex Vasilescu-$29,087

Action at the Final Table

Jones ended Alex Vasilescu’s run in the ninth position. The former busted Timothy Brown in sixth place and Kenneth Brossoit in fifth place in one hand.

Lewis used Q5 to go all-in and Jones dominated his opponent in the hole with Q5. 1010347 landed on the final board, sending Lewis parking in second place with $186,733.

Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply