Poker Hall of Fame Finalists Revealed by WSOP

World Series of Poker

On Sunday, the World Series of Poker announced the top ten finalists for the 2017 Poker Hall of Fame. Only two of the ten will be inducted and the list is full of amazing players who have made a significant impact on the game of poker. The list was created from the public nomination process which started in June and then the nominations were reviewed by the Poker Hall of Fame council. The Poker Hall of Fame living members, of which there are 27, will now choose the final two, along with a panel of media members to see who will be the next to be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame.

The Finalists:

  • David Chiu
  • David Ulliott
  • Huck Seed
  • Matt Savage
  • Max Pescatori
  • Mike Matusow
  • Mori Eskandani
  • Phil Ivey
  • Ted Forrest
  • Thor Hansen

Many in the poker community felt that Ivey would make the cut after he turned 40 in February, making him eligible due to the age requirement of the Poker Hall of Fame. Not surprisingly, Ivey is included among the nominees. Surprisingly, the poker pro is not competing in the biggest event of the WSOP, the Main Event. The tournament came and went without Ivey registering to compete.

In the past, the induction ceremony of the new members of the Poker Hall of Fame would take place in November along with the final table of the Main Event in Nevada. For 2017, the Main Event format has changed and will take place in July. So, the induction ceremony for the Poker Hall of Fame time frame also changes. This year, the inductees will be honored on the 21st of July.

In 2016, Todd Brunson and Carlos Mortensen were inducted, which created 52 members of the Poker Hall of Fame, an organization created in 1979. It will be interesting to see who is chosen this year, with most bets leaning towards Ivey as one of the two new inductees.

Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply