Ten Finalists Named For Poker Hall of Fame

Ten poker players have now been named as finalists for the Poker Hall of Fame. The World Series of Poker and Governing Council has announced the names of the ten finalists for the 2012 induction and the names are announced after the public nominations and the write-in options from current Hall of Fame members.

The finalists for this year’s induction are as follows:

Chris Bjorin

David Chiu

Eric Drache

Thor Hansen

George Hardie

Jennifer Harman-Traniello

John Juanda

Tom McEvoy

Scotty Nguyen

Brian Roberts

Out of the ten nominees, Harman-Traniello, McEvoy, Nguyen and Juanda were nominated last year. It would be nice to see someone from this group make the induction ceremony as they were beat out by Barry Greenstein and Linda Johnson last year.

The finalists will now be judged by the eighteen living members of the Poker Hall of Fame as well as a media panel which is comprised of eighteen members as well. The official voting will take place and then the 2012 class will be inducted during the WSOP Main Event final table action. The induction ceremony will take place at the Penn & Teller Theater which is located at the Rio.

Currently, there are forty two members of the Poker Hall of Fame. Players have to meet a certain criteria to be considered for this honor. Players must be at least forty years of age and have played poker against top competition. Players must also have played for high stakes, played well to earn the respect of their peers and stood the test of time in the game. Those nominated who are non-players must have contributed to the overall growth of the game of poker.

It will be interesting to see which players will be nominated for induction. Best of luck to all those nominated!

Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply