John Juanda Earns First EPT Win in Barcelona

EPTDespite the serious complaints coming from the European Poker Tour Barcelona stop, good news can be found in the series Main Event. The no limit hold’em tournament had a buy-in of €5,300 and with 1,694 players competed, the largest ever event in the history of the tour was created. In the end, it was poker pro John Juanda who earned the first place win, earning his first every EPT win in the process.

Juanda has earned five WSOP titles but never was able to earn an EPT win, until now. With the win, Juanda earned his first EPT title as well as just over $1.1 million. Juanda had made it to the runner up position in the past but never was able to seal the win.

When the final day of game play began, Juanda would be sitting in the 5th position in chips. The lead was held by Denys Shafikov, who had a substantial lead over the table. Shafikov would eventually be eliminated in fourth place which would leave Juanda, Steve Warburton and Frederik Jensen in three way play.

The three remaining players decided to cut a deal which would give Warburton €941,613, Juanda €922,593 and Jensen €810,294 based on their current chip stacks at the time. This would leave €100,000 in the prize money plus the trophy and title to the eventual winner.

Jensen would be eliminated in 3rd by Juanda and this would give the pro close to a 4 to 1 lead over Warburton going in to heads up play. It would take 21 hands for Juanda to earn the win on the final hand with pocket queens against Warburton’s pocket 8s.

Final Payouts:

Place Player Earnings (USD)
1 John Juanda $1,186,208*
2 Steve Warburton $1,092,271*
3 Frederik Jensen $939,941*
4 Denys Shafikov $469,916
5 Rainer Kempe $371,664
6 Andreas Samuelsson $294,524
7 Amir Touma $225,156
8 Mario Sanchez $159,013


*top 3 participated in a 3-way deal

Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply