Barney Frank’s IGREA Gets 45th Co-Sponsor

Congressman Barney Frank’s HR 2046 Internet Gambling Regulation and Enforcement Act (IGREA) bill has yet another co-sponsor and now can boast 45 total in its quest to license and regulate online poker and online gambling in the USA.

California Representative Ellen O. Taucher (D.) who has served in the U.S. House of Representatives since 1996 is the latest to sign on as a co-sponsor.

Congresswoman Taucher is the Chair of the House New Democrat Coalition (NDC), the largest centrist caucus in the House of Representatives. The NDC was founded in 1997 and according to their website they, “provides moderate, pro-growth Members of Congress with the opportunity to advance a common sense policy agenda to move our country in the right direction.”

She is also a member of the Highways, Transit and Pipelines subcommittee, a member of the Aviation sub-committee as well as chairwoman of the Strategic Forces Subcommittee. Congresswoman Taucher serves on the subcommittees of Air and Land Forces, Oversight and Investigations and a member of the Water Resources and Environment subcommittee. This makes her only the 3rd woman to chair an Armed Services Subcommittee.

As her record shows she is one of the few that in October 2006 voted against the UIGEA.

The 45 co-sponsors to far are:

Neil Abercrombie (D-HI) Gary L. Ackerman (D-NY) Robert E. Andrews (D-NJ) Joe Baca (D-CA)
Shelly Berkley (D-NV) Howard L. Berman (D-CA) Earl Blumenauer (D-OR) Michael Capuano (D-MA)
Russ Carnahan (D-O) Julia Carson (D-IN) Wm. Lacy Clay (D-MO) Steve Cohen (D-TN)
Joseph Crowley (D-NY) William Delahunt (D-MA) Bob Filner (D-CA) Vito Fossella (R-NY)
Raul Grijalva (D-AZ) Luis V. Gutierrez (D-IL) Alcee Hastings (D-FL) Michael Honda (D-CA)
Steve Israel (D-NY) Peter T. King (R-NY) John Larson (D-CT) Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY)
Jim McDermott (D-WA) James McGovern (D-MA) Charlie Melancon (D-LA) James Moran (D-VA)
Ron Paul (R-Texas) Ed Perlmutter (D-CO) Ciro D. Rodriguez (D- TX) Steven Rothman (D-NJ)
Linda T Sanchez (D-CA) Adam Schiff (D-CA) Robert C. Scott (D-VA) Adam Smith (D-WA)
Ellen O. Tauscher (D-CA) Bennie Thompson (D-MS) Edolphus Towns (D-NY) Melvin L. Watt (D-NC)
Anthony Weiner (D-NY) Robert Wexler (D-FL) Lynn Woolsey (D-CA) Albert Russell Wynn (D-MD)
Don Young (R-AL)

If you do not see your Congressman listed and want to get involved:

  • Write your Congressman and ask him or her to support Barney Frank’s efforts.
  • Look into the efforts of the Poker Players Alliance.
  • Check out the APCW
Up To $3,000 in Bonuses! Play Now
100% up to $3,000 Bonus

Bovada is our most recommended ONLINE CASINO and POKER ROOM for US players with excellent deposit options. Get your 100% signup bonus today.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply